10
Mar
08

YouTube Multi-Video upload continued

Ok, so my internet connection is really slow (thank you Comcast!) and the Jose Gonzalez DV NTSC anamorphic quicktime, weighing in at 771.6 mb, still hasn’t uploaded. So in the meantime I’ve updated the blog to include a new page with a copy of my resume for your entertainment. Also, I’ve updated the blog title to pro•active•ly.

Why the suffix? It’s an ode to my English major roots. Think of that extra -ly as a metaphor for the extra tidbits of info I might tack on to a rather mundane Compressor explanation, or the extra tangent that leads to a link to the Videospace widget.

Speaking of the Videospace widget, it made me realize that I could derive the precise amount of DV NTSC and HDV 1080i material that would fit in the 1024mb window for YouTube:

DV NTSC

videospace-youtube-dv-ntsc.png

HDV 1080i

videospace-youtube-hdv-1080i.png

So boys and girls, it looks like we can upload longer videos using HDV quicktimes! Makes me feel a bit silly that I down-converted the Jose Gonzalez piece from a 1440×1080 ProRes 422 timeline to DV NTSC for upload to YouTube. Ends up I could have had Color render my media as HDV instead of ProRes 422 and then simply exported a self contained quicktime movie to upload directly to YouTube.

Of course, it remains to be seen which quicktime would result in a better YouTube compression. Or if uploading the HDV quicktime might result in the coveted Apple TV “HQ” tag for high quality movies. Sounds like a test is in order. And my first upload still isn’t done…

0 Responses to “YouTube Multi-Video upload continued”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 287,833 clicks since March 2008

