27
Jun
08

Hole in 1!

In my twentieth year of golf, today I achieved something that no snowman or 4-putt can ever take away:

a hole-in-one!  From the championship tees!

After the Gary Williams Invitational field cleared the University of Maryland Golf Course, I teed up on number one around 3:30 est.

Following a missed up-and-down attempt bogey five on Hole 1, Brian and Mike, two Maryland students working at the course, joined me on Hole 2.

3-wood into the fairway and 5-iron onto the green ended with a 4-putt double-bogey 6 on Hole 2. Poop.

4-iron into the fairway and 56-degree Vokey wedge onto the green plus a 2-putt on the dreaded 3rd Hole green left me with the first par of the round.

Mike started talking about how fast the greens had been cut for the Publix tournament qualifier the week before. Apparently it’s a tournament that can lead to qualifying to play the Masters at Augusta. Not really sure what that is since I don’t see it on the website.

So I teed it up low and hit a six-iron towards the green on Hole 4.

Well struck and high, the ball flew straight at the pin, just to the left. Once the ball started to drop it did my signature tight cut right at the pin, maybe 2-3 yards wide. Bounce, bounce, roll, pause…

And the ball went in. Straight in.

I gave a controlled but heartfelt “YES!” And at some point I think I dropped my 6-iron because I looked around after and it was laying on the ground.

But Brian and Mike went totally crazy. “OMIGOSH I’ve never SEEN THAT before!!” I remember Mike saying. Brian said something similar and then “Well, I think I’ll just stop playing now.”

It was an amazing, amazing feeling and I’m still floating now, 8 hours later. Wow. Wow. Wow.

proactively • playing golf tomorrow • wow • peter

4 Responses to “Hole in 1!”


  1. June 30, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Buy this man a drink! Congrats!

  2. July 27, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Peter,
    This is Brian Murphy, one of the golf professionals at the University of Maryland Golf Course. I was the one in the shop the day you made your hole in 1 and ordered your plaque. It came in last week, but I misplaced the piece of paper that has your phone number and contact information on it so I’ve been unable to get in touch with you. I had some free time today and googled you, and found your blog eventually, thank god you made a post about it. Anyways, I’m so sorry it’s taken so long, but your plaque is in the shop, and you may come by and pick it up at any time. If you need anything please do not hesitate to let me know, my number here at work is (301) 314-9785, and my email is murphalo@umd.edu. Congratulations once a again!

  3. 4 psalvia
    July 27, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Awesome Brian, glad you found me!

    I’ll drop you a line and come by to pick up the plaque.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 287,622 clicks since March 2008

