18
Oct
08

FCProse Episode 4 – cut color compress 5dmarkii footage

Here’s the all-in-one video tutorial showing you how to cut, color, and compress 1080p video captured with Canon’s upcoming 5D Mark II Digital SLR with three Final Cut Studio 2 applications: Final Cut Pro, Color, and Compressor. I recommend clicking thru for the hd version to better see the application interfaces.

In this episode I walk through the steps to edit your footage in Final Cut Pro, perform a broadcast safe grade in Color, and then make a web compression for upload to YouTube and Vimeo using Compressor.

I work directly with the source H.264 video Vincent Laforet made available for download (no H.264 -> Apple ProRes 422 transcode this time around). I also discuss some system specs and rant about High Dynamic Range video. A quick tag surf lead me to this post that has an example of HDR video captured by something called the HDRC® MDC04 CL camera system.

What’s High Dynamic Range (HDR), you ask? Check out yet another Chad Richard HDR timelapse (click thru for the full HD effect):

Mr. Richard has done a lot of heavy lifting to convert a series of HDR stills into 1080p video (and then compress for Vimeo, of course). Check out his tutorial for this process here.

We’re at the forefront of a paradigm shift where digital photography and high definition video are converging. Check out Romy Ocon‘s 5dmkii bird photography, err, video:

Right now is an exciting, exciting time.

proactively • sitting in a front row seat • peter

7 Responses to “FCProse Episode 4 – cut color compress 5dmarkii footage”


  1. October 19, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Mr. Salvia,

    Oh boy! Man that was fantastic! Have you ever thought of teaching workshops? I would appreciate more time with your tutorials. How did you learn all this stuff? I am really interested in everything that you know. I really like the way you work. With some teachers I feel intimidated by their style of teaching, but it feels like your just doing these videos during your free time just relaxing in your house. I love them! They’re great. I can’t wait till you get your 5D Mk II! Then, I hope you will do even more tutorials! Anyway….

    Thanks Again,

    – Will Azcona

    P.S. Are you based in CA?

    Thanks for everything and keep it going! I hope you get paid a lot for what you can do.

  2. October 19, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Sorry, but I can’t seem to download the Vimeo video of you color grading the other two pieces of footage. This was the detailed the color grading, when you mentioned the limiter you noticed.

    If you could PLEASE make it available.

    Thanks Again,

    – Will Azcona

  3. 3 psalvia
    October 19, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Glad you like these William. I’ve reset the Vimeo settings for FCProse Episode 3 so it is now available for download. I’ll do my best to keep the format for these toots fast and loose. That’s how I work in the real world – and they say you should practice how you play.

    I’m based in Chevy Chase, MD but I do travel 🙂 I’m an Apple Certified Trainer, certified to teach Final Cut Pro, Motion, and Color. I’d love to do workshops and can’t wait to get my hands on the 5dmarkii. I’m so happy to see the whirlwind of enthusiasm surrounding this amazing new camera.

    As for the limiter, that seemed to be a result of converting the h264 source files to the Apple ProRes 422. Not sure why that happened, but when I have some more down time I’ll investigate this further.

    proactively • peter

  4. 4 Chad Jones
    October 21, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Peter,

    This is one of the best video tutorials I’ve ever seen. I’ve been waiting for years for the “affordable” possibility of really high-end video production, looks like my waiting in about to come to an end with the 5D Mark ii.

    Keep up the good work! I’ll check back often.

    Chad Jones

  5. 5 psalvia
    October 22, 2008 at 1:23 am

    Thank you for your kind words Chad.

    I think the 5dmarkii is going to raise the production quality of documentary television and web video exponentially.

    These tutorials are my part to help get 5dmarkii footage out of the camera and onto computer and television screens. Let me know if there are any specific topics you would like me to cover in upcoming FCProse episodes and I’ll do what I can to oblige.

    proactively • peter

  6. 6 Brian
    November 5, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Thanks for these tutorials. Very generous of you.

    I’d love to know what else you discover about workflow, transcoding, etc. I was planning on transcoding my 5D2 footage to ProRes, but it looks like that poses a problem with color correction. How was the quality of h.264 native in Color vs. ProRes?

    It’d also be great to see come Color techniques for taking some of the harsh video look out of the 5D2 footage.

  7. 7 psalvia
    November 5, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Hey Brian, thanks for stopping by. Originally I was recommending transcoding the h264 source footage to apple prores 422. However, I found that process somehow clipped the luma and chroma info in the resulting media. So, now I recommend working with the h264 footage up to the color grade andthen rendering to apple prores from color.

    You can see a comparison of the scopes with the source h264 footage and the transcoded apple prores footage here:

    https://petersalvia.wordpress.com/2008/10/15/fcprose-episode-3-color-grading-5dmarkii-footage/

    Thanks for the tutorial request, a good starting point is Color’s Color FX room. Take a look at the film look and grain nodes, as well as a few of the stock color fx templates. If Canon adds a firmware upgrade to allow the 5dmarkii to capture 24p that of course would go a long way to acheiving a more filmic look. Stu Maschwitz at ProLost has started a petition to request this feature here:

    http://prolost.blogspot.com/2008/09/my-letter-to-canon.html

    proactively • peter


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 287,610 clicks since March 2008

