18
Dec
08

canon & bicycles – hv30 vs. 5dmarkii

And the theme for this comparison is… bicycles! Here’s a Vimeo SD embed of a video I shot & cut for the Travel Channel Academy with my Canon HV30 at 1440x1080p24

And here’s two YouTube high quality SD embeds of footage shot with a pre-production model of Canon’s new 5D Mark II Digital SLR at 1920x1080p30

Sure, the 5D is 3500 bucks off the shelf, and my entire HV30 kit with wide angle lens adapter, boom mic, camera bag, and a sweet lens cleaning pen topped out at 1200 bucks. But holy hell, look what an additional 2400 bucks can get you!

So what’s the point of even looking at the Canon XH-A1 or the Sony Z1U at a very similair 3,xxx dollar price point? None. Or maybe you’re required by DCI to jump through flaming hoops of razor wire to deliver tapeless footage (my sympathies). Or then maybe you like recording video AND sound. I’ve yet to see, err hear, any audio examples at all from the 5dmarkii.

Anybody out there know of any? And when the hell is my Apple TV going to start playing YouTube in HD???

proactively • just make the sound up in post • peter


2 Responses to “canon & bicycles – hv30 vs. 5dmarkii”


  1. 1 Chad Jones
    December 20, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Hey Peter,

    Great comparison! I thought your piece was very nicely shot and cut! Good work.

    So here’s a quick question for you. I just bought an HV30, I’d like to get a wide angle adapter like yours. Can you tell me what brand and model adapter you’re using?

    Have you ever tried using a 35mm DOF adapter with your HV30? If so, I’d like to hear your thoughts.

    Thanks! Have a happy holiday!

    Chad Jones

  2. 2 psalvia
    December 20, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Hey Chad, thanks for the compliment and glad you liked it. I really dig my HV30 and the kit I put together for it, it’s very low key and produces surprisingly good results IMHO.

    The wide angle adapter I use is the Panasonic VW-W4307H 0.7x wide angle converter and you can see a glamor shot of it here:

    https://petersalvia.wordpress.com/2008/07/31/canon-hv30-purchased/

    I was researching 35mm adapters heavily for awhile, products from Letus, Cinevate, and RedRock Micro were my top three contenders. But, with the release of the Canon 5D Mark II at a $2600 price point for just the body, I’d really recommend getting something like that and then adding your own lens rather than putting a 35mm adapter on the front of your HV30.

    The main reason I got the HV30 and not the XH-A1 is because I wanted to be super light and indiscreet. Fitting a Letus or Cinevate 35mm adapter on the front immediately created a wonkiness to my run and gun style I didn’t feel comfortable with. On the flip side of course you may not share that view and the footage people are getting from HV30′s and a 35mm adapter, when used correctly, is pretty stunning.

    Happy Holidays!

    proactively • off the fence but withing walking distance • peter


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 270,311 clicks since March 2008

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

