17
May
10

a lens is a huh?

Mitch Gross has produced a very cool and informative video posted on CineTechnica explaining the relationship between lenses and camera formats and sensors and stuff.  Click here for the video or on the pic above.  I’ve been researching the heck out of basic photography concepts since purchasing my new 5d mark ii.

My new gun.

I guess now would be a good time to fully disclose that I was solicited by B&H a few weeks ago and agreed to become a B&H sales affiliate.  I think B&H is the best place to order your video gear;  great customer service, a ton of product reviews, and a proven track record.  They also offer 6 month no interest financing which makes it possible for me to pay for my gear (who has 2 grand in cash anymore?).  And if you feel like my blog has offered you some good info along the way, you now have the opportunity to help me while helping yourself.  Just click on any of the links on my blog linked to a product you’d like to receive from B&H and I get a commission.

There, I said it. Now, moving on…

I shot almost a full 32GB card of footage on Saturday.  It was my first opportunity to go raw dog with the 5D and make a video;  I filmed my good friend Kirk Schmidt installing a new 40 gallon salt water fish tank for my fiancee Dawn and me.  Lenses were the

Canon Zoom Super Wide Angle EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM Autofocus Lens

and the

Canon Zoom Wide Angle-Telephoto EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM Autofocus Lens

Shot all natural and available light at ISO 1250 and, besides a few shots on sticks, all run and gun style with no shoulder support. I’m blogging from work so don’t have access to any stills yet but will be posting more info this week.  Stay tuned…

proactively • back to blogging, again! • peter

Disclosure, to comply with the FTC’s new rules

None of the manufacturers listed above are paying Peter Salvia to write this article and, so far, none have sent him any samples or demonstration items.  Peter is a B&H Sales Affiliate and receives a commission from items linked to B&H and purchased through this site.

3 Responses to “a lens is a huh?”


  1. May 17, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Thank you for your kind mention of B&H Photo. Please accept our warm thanks and deep gratitude for your patronage. We look forward to earning your trust and continued business for many years to come. I invite you and your readers to check out our new informative and entertaining blog at http://www.bhinsights.com

    Hershel K. Waldner
    B&H Photo, Video, Pro Audio

  2. May 18, 2010 at 9:11 am

    “I think B&H is the best place to order your video gear; great customer service, a ton of product reviews, and a proven track record.”

    Thank you. This is very gratifying and we hope this new relationship is mutually rewarding. All the best.


    Henry Posner
    B&H Photo-Video

  3. 3 psalvia
    May 18, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Thank you for reaching out to me. I’ve been linking to products on your site since I started my blog because I’ve had such good experiences and the prices have always been fair. Being able to pick up the phone, talk with a real person and then have that same person be able to recommend the perfect camera bag or UV filter on the fly is invaluable. I’ve found the knowledge of your staff to be second to none.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 287,325 clicks since March 2008

